Move nextcloud to new server

I want to move my nextcloud from a shared web host, bluehost, to a digital ocean droplet. How do I do this, and how much memory do I need on the vps to be able to run nextcloud smoothly? Thanks!

1. Transfer data
  2. Transfer database
  3. adjust settings in config.php to match new system (especially database credentials)
  4. check if its working

Memory depends on the number of concurrent users and the apps you use.

Appreciate it, also able 10 users and able 70 apps

My setup is Ubuntu with Nextcloud, MariaDB, Collabora, redis, and coturn all running in Docker, plus Apache reverse proxy and certbot running on the host. That sits at 1.3 GB RAM with two users.

@KarlF12 – Does your installation run on a VPS?

@kevdog - No, I run it on a VMware ESXi server at home.

Oh awesome – that sounds like a great setup. I tend to use xcp-ng as my hypervisor of choice but honestly I’ve never used ESXi before. I’m curious – how much RAM do you allocate to your Ubuntu VM? 2GB with 1cpu and 2 cores?

I have it set up for 4 cores and 8 GB RAM but it only uses a fraction of that. My server has two 6 core CPUs and 96 GB RAM so I have plenty to throw around.

At the moment, I have 11 VMs running across 3 networks. Nextcloud is just one of them. Actually one of the networks is completely separate with its own instance of pfSense and Nextcloud that I was using for work as a proof of concept.

I spend a lot of time with VMware ESXi clusters at work, so I guess I brought some of that home.

A small VPS with 2 cores and 4 gb ram should be sufficient. Be sure to setup PHP OPcache and a local cache (i’m using APCu) to achieve the best performance.

you can resize your droplet at any time. so start with 2gb and increase/decrease as you like.

for easy setup and testing:

• find out your running nextcloud version or update to latest. don’t mox versions. check your config.php
  • make a copy of your data and your database