Million question related to "is Nextcloud right for my application?"

I am a complete newbie with respect to nextcloud.

I have a web server applications where friends and colleagues can upload jpg files, then an AI crops the uploaded file, and transcribe the handwriting in the jpg files. The user interacts with a webpage my server hosts to tweak the crops and transcriptions. The file management of my application sucks and so I would like to know if Nextcloud can be used to manage all files uploads, etc.

I have truenas core for storage of all files. Truenas claims to support NextCloud but it is not obvious that the next cloud on truenas can support multiple users.

Q1: can Nextcloud on truenas support multiple users? or any local install of nextcloud on my server?
Q2: Is there an API in Nextcloud to create user accounts? I’m guessing that users would create an account on my application collecting all the info i need for my application plus anything that Nextcloud needs then using the api configure the user account. Does this make sense?
Q3: When users upload files, or change location of files, is there an notificaiton my application can register for? My application creates indexes and table of contents, so it needs to know when applications change location.
Q4: I assume that my application after getting a notification of a new file, can open the file (ie: to crop and transcribe). Is this the case?
Q5: I assume my application can create files in the user account (ie: store the output of the cropping and transcription). Is this the case?
Q6: did i get the gist of Nextcloud or did I completely get it wrong? Any suggestions as to where I could find documentation for the above would be greatly appreciated.
Q7: are there any fees to Nextcloud or is this completely open source? what is the license for this sw?
Q8: my server already uses port 443, what port does nextcloud use?