Migrate Caldav and Carddav data from OwnCloud 5.0.11 to a new NextCloud set-up

Nextcloud version (eg, 18.0.2): Latest (not yet installed)
Operating system and version (eg, Ubuntu 20.04): Raspbian / NextCloudPi (not yet installed)

I’m running an ancient Owncloud 5.0.11 on my Synology Diskstation - the Synology package has not been maintained for ages, and as Owncloud worked ok so far, I never verified versions :wink:

This Owncloud is only used to sync contacts (CardDav) and calendars (CalDav) to various clients, only 2 users.

I’m about to set up NextCloud on a Raspery Pi 3b using CloudNextPi and want to migrate the contacts and calendar entries there.

What is the best way to do that? Typical migration advice covers replacing Owncloud with Nextcloud on the same system, but here I want to start from scratch. I’m not very experienced with Linux, so an easy export / import option would be ideal :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance!

Yes, in your case there would be a lot of steps (all major versions) and your idea to make a new setup is probably the better solution.

Some carddav and caldav clients can make backup copies themselves, so you could use this, then connect to the new server and save the data back. There are also script to do this from outside:

Perhaps there are a few others.

Since you have different systems, you can set up the new setup and then just try different solutions :wink: I’d rather try a solution that uses caldav and carddav to copy the data instead of manually copy the ownCloud and Nextcloud database. There is a considerable version gap, there might be some things that have changed. There are probably a few more topics here on the forum.

Thanks a lot, tflidd!