Mail SMTP ssl/tls failure

Nextcloud:13.0.5
Ubuntu:18.04.1
php:7.2

Hello all,
i have a problem with the nextcloud smtp mail-service.
I installed nextcloud for my company and email-traffic have to be encrypted. The mail server can only be reached by a remote connection and i have no direct access to it.
I try to send mails encrypted via ssl/tls encryption. I use non-authentification and use port:25. I tried many different settings and nextcloud gave me a couple of failure messages. When i tried using STARTLS, it said: ‘Unable to connect with TLS encryption’. Then i changed the port to 465 or 587:
‘Connection refused #111’.
When i use ssl/tls it sais: ‘Connection could not be established with host ********** [ #0]’.

I dont know what i can do, to make this work. Can anyone help me?

What is the output of the mail log?

Thanks for the response…
i am new to this whole nextcloud thing, so please forgive my inexpierence. Where can i read the mail logfiles?

cd /var/log

There are no logfiles for nextcloud. And when i cant find them. Sorry

do you have access to the settings of your own email-client?
you could gather some important informations about the correct credentials there as well…

Thats the problem. I dont have access to the client. Its administrated by a different person. I understand how difficult it is to configure something, when you dont have the whole picture. For what i understand there is no authentification needed, and it is an internal network system.

Can you ask that person to find out your mail server log file?

@janos

…about the needed credentials for your setup? that would be the most helpful thing to do here

I found this:
stream_socket_enable_crypto(): SSL operation failed with code 1. OpenSSL Error messages: error:1417110A:SSL routines:tls_process_server_hello:wrong ssl version at /var/www/nextcloud/3rdparty/swiftmailer/swiftmailer/lib/classes/Swift/Transport/StreamBuffer.php#94

Now i changed this in the directory to: