Longevity of your Nextcloud server - HDD - SSD -

After a few exchange in this message thread:
Now What? Long term safeguards on a fully completed setup - #11 by stratege1401

… I was joking about sacrificing some chickens to the god of “neverhappenbutitcould” regarding backup, longevity and some other aspect of managing a nextcloud server.

Quoting myself in order to avoid some back in forth between threads here:

stratege1401

• Some info about reliability/backup…my experience.

I’ve been using nextcloud since … 2017.

My personal server has always been based on Debian and a soft raid6 lvm.

The hardware most of the time is based on regular “gaming” hardware except Hdd who are Proversion of Seagate ironwolf for Nextcloud data and a SSD for OS.

My raid6 array grown from 6TB to 10TB (LVM)…

My HA backup is much more simpler, and have only a 12TB HDD, rsync every 6 hours, hosted by my brother ( we are happy FttH users with 10G boxes free.fr )

I did change my hardware twice since 2017.
First time 5 years ago, rebuilt next 13.

Rebuilt my OS once, rebuilding next 17.

And after 5 years, as I had to change the SSD after smart alert ( samsung 840 ). Decided also to update my server totaly. Rebuilding OS and Nextcloud to 23 two weeks ago.

My raid6 had 1 disk failure in 6 years.

We are 21 users on it … Both personal and professional use…

Everytime I had to work on the server, I had the possibility to go to maintenance, activate HA manually…(luck, I guess… My 2 chickens sacrifice…)

And has i have a 3 months limite for share links, I am not very concerned by them…

My HA server is 4 years old, the HDD is new…

I could have gone for S3 external backup, but long haul pricing is bad…

stratege1401

It was in a 5 years span, not 6.

Thank you for the backblaze stats.

When i first bought my HDD, i spent time looking at the figure before making a choose. But, it was merely impossible to find any of the “good” PIN through regular EU shops …