LAN server vs. or including NextCloud

I have some server experience, but am new to NextCloud. If this is a stupid question, I apologise in advance.

I have a FileServer using SMB/CIFS via FreeNAS, where I have a working set up of relevant permissions for different users so that they have private files, and then common access to (only) the files they should be able to see using setacl cmds as well as the usual owner/group permissions.
It is not a particularly large data size, but it is large volume - there are hundreds/thousands of subdirs, and 100,000+ files (probably ~15yrs of biz data.
I would like to use the NextCloud - but -

• Is there any advantage to the NextCloud method of sharing over this system
  • I don’t know if or how I can use it on this dataset, or if it will ignore/overwrite the existing permissions structure.
    ** Would I simply scan the CIFS share as an external source?
  • It would be logical to use the FreeNAS NextCloud jail system - has anyone done this successfully and able to offer tips/pointers or reference docs to look at?
    **Specifically, the CIFS/SMB dataset is in its own jail, so permissions are a bit of a challenge already, and I don;t have the experience to know if this is a FreeNAS complexity, or a NextCloud complexity (I am happy to do the slog-work, but I just don;t know WHICH slog-work to do :blush:)

Thanks

To address your points: