Is NextCloudPi just a preinstalled image?

I have been dabbling with setting up a homelab on a Raspberry Pi. I’m a total noob but managed to get things like vaultwarden, a printerverser en a proxymanager working. Nextcloud however confuses me.
As I bought an external ssd drive I wanted to reinstall everything anyway, so I am looking at NextcloudPi to use as the OS. But I have some questions I cannot find the answers to:

1. Is this just Raspberry Pi OS with Nextcloud (and other things) preinstalled?
  2. Is it 32 or 64 bit?
  3. Can I still install other apps (like Vaultwarden) using docker/portainer?
  4. Are updates (to NextCloudPi) done with apt (or do I need to manually download them)?

Sorry if any of this is obvious, but I am still learning.

Yes, plus is extensively tested over years by volunteers to include all kinds of additional scripts and things to keep your system humming along without you needing to interfere.

Both are available. Search the forum for pre ious discussion on 32bit support, which continues for now. Nextcloud decided to continue support for the time being.

No, in that case use Nextcloud AIO as it is expressly built for Docker.

Big feature of ncp is auto-updates across the board, but the cost is you keep your hands off and never mess with the underlying system. It is built for non-technical admins who want handholding while selfhosting on top of Debian with sane defaults and fewer surprises.

Sounds like you will enjoy AIO docker image from Nextcloud. :slight_smile: