Is Nextcloud the perfect software for our needs?

Hi nextcloud-community,

first of all - sorry for my bad english, school is long time ago. I installed nextcloud 14 on a debian system. I am new to debian and new to nextcloud but i found the most answers i needed… so everything works. I played a little bit around to see whats possible.

Let me first explain what exactly i need:

We are a architecture company and we have a windows Fileserver where everything is in one simple folder called “projects”. In this folder there are (atm) around 1200 projects, every projects has lots of subfolders. every project folder is around 10GB large.

We have now collegues in our team who need their projects (which they are working on) SYNCED on a windows surface! they need the files OFFLINE.

Lets say we have 10 team members and everyone needs his own projects offline on a windows surface tablet.

As far as i understand nextcloud, every user has its own folder in the data folder. and i can additionally add our windows projects folder as “external storage”. thats what i have done so far after a usual nextcloud installation. the problem is that i did not find a possibility to manage the external storage ALSO TO SYNC with a users nextcloud client. i only have a access on the fly. i am sure you know what i mean…

PERFECT would be if i can use occ (via php script) to give my team members access to THE PROJECTS THEY NEED. This can change every half a year. We want them to have all files they need on their mobile device BECAUSE they dont have internet access where they are (for example at construction areas). when their windows surface gets internet again, the files should sync with our project folder. Multiple people need multiple project folders.