Is a new Nextcloud Docker container keeping data and settings?

I am just getting started with Docker and have a few basic questions.

I am using a Synology DS420+ with Nextcloud 22.2.0 in a Docker v20.10.3 container with MariaDB 10 v10.3.29 (DB not in the Docker container, but the Synology package). All basic functions are working and I don’t want to put that at risk by trying to configure in the container’s terminal (e.g. adding SVG support in the php-imagick module). In a VM, I would create a snapshot…

If something went wrong and I have to delete the Nextcloud container and create a new one with the same settings (volume, port settings and environment variables), will it find the data in MariaDB 10 or do I need to recreate/sync calendars and address books? Do the names of the old and new containers have to be identical? I assume I have to set user accounts and settings (admin) again or have I overlooked an export and import function for this?

Does anyone know what the difference is between restarting and resetting? Or is restart just the same as stop & start?

I’m not familiar with Sinology way of doing things but in general Docker is working exactly as you want - put all persistent data on specific volume (or more correct other way round: mount volumes into every place in container you want to keep) and configure everything you need like DB connection using environment variables - then you don’t need to worry about the container itself - it’s always possible to drop and re-create the container from scratch…