IPv6 Best Practice? Any Guide?

Hello all

Nextcloud and NextcloudPi are great projects and was already able to set it up with IPv4 and DuckDNS (DynDNS) on my RPi 4.

But I can’t find anywhere any guide for setup with IPv6. I have searched all sites. Also, the whole admin console is set up for IPv4.

Is there a best practice for dealing with IPv6? How do I make sure the Let’s Encrypt service renews the certificates automatically without IPv4 and port forwarding?

As a computer scientist I knew approximately that I could read out the assigned IPv6 IP addresses via SSH on the RPi and could then access it that way. DynDNS may be bypassed thanks to fixed IPv6 and so I made a AAAA entry in my DNS Zone at the domain registrar.

I can access it via PC browser, but not via mobile browser and do not have a valid certificate yet. I have added the domain as a trusted domain.

I’m not done yet though, as you can see. Can you please make an IPv6 best practice guide somewhere that could also serve beginners?

Best thanks and greetings

Braxtor

The certificate is based on the hostname. So it will be validated only once against your hostname (either ipv4 or ipv6). Normally if you add ipv6 later, it should work without reissuing a certificate.

For ipv6, you have to make sure that packages are forwarded by the router and not blocked by a firewall. So first step would be to try to ping you ipv6 from outside of your network.

Sorry, that’s not nearly enough. But thank you.

Do I need to add trusted domains? What if the certificate expires? There is no IPv6 address on the admin console.
Any NextcloudPi IPv6 documentation anywhere??

You can use the same hostname/domain for ip4 AND ip6. Therefore you can use the same certificate for both. Same applies for trusted domains…

Thank you very much. So everything as with IPv4. Not possible to abandon IPv4.

Unbenannt