I have this issue with the desktop client (ubuntu) since ages:
If I want to skip one folder the message on the bottom appears and tells me
that my local folder will get deleted. Help! Why? I just want to skip the sync to the remote server for this folder.
Is there a way to skip folders with the desktop app?