How to setup a cron job for rescan certain folders

hi i am using nc latest and uploaded some files via sftp.
how can i setup a cronjob that rescans the files of this folder:
/data/telemarker/files/bilder

probably i need to setup a php file and use the cronjob to activate that.
but im a newbie and have no glue at - any help is highly appreaciated.
thanks
telemarker

Check-out the administrator guide which includes an example how the default background job need to be executed using cron:

https://docs.nextcloud.com/server/21/admin_manual/configuration_server/background_jobs_configuration.html?highlight=cron#cron

1 Like

@j-ed I don’t think that @telemarker wants to set up a normal cronjob but instead wants to schedule the command occ files:scan

2 Likes

correct, thats what i want!

My opinion on that is to not regularly run files:scan but instead use the external storage app for any folder that shall regularly get accessed/changed externally since it has some very practical features for this and is meant for this usecase.

hey szaimen, i cannot find the external storage app:
https://apps.nextcloud.com/?search=external+storage
there are only apps available for dropobox, onedrive and googledrive.

actually i just need to run the scan every now and then when i upload large files (since this is not supported by the nc client). but my ssh is not working, so i need to make nc rescan somehow from the server. maybe i could run a .php or .sh file via url?

The app is actually bundled within the server software itself: server/apps/files_external at master · nextcloud/server · GitHub

thanks, yes i can see it on the server and just found it under your apps.

ok, i set up the external drive - but it runs pretty slow - maybe its scanning right now. but i can see just the folders and files - no thumbnails of images at all.

also i got some errors popping up.