How to install Nextcloud on a separate (Veracrypt) HDD

Hi all,

Im coming from a Windows environment feat. Seafile setup and my target is to setup nextcloud on ubuntu. Im following the official deployment guide and have read several how-tos online.
However, none of them highlights how to install nextcloud or its database on a separate drive.

I have setup a RAID array with Verycrypt container which is mounted to /media/veracrypt1.
I would like to have at least the database (best case the whole nextcloud installation) on that drive. Im aware that the LAMP stack most probably needs to be on the main drive, but it should be able to have the nextcloud installation somewhere else.

Surprisingly there seems to be no information out there on how to do it?!
Any hints? Since, Im really new to Linux I would appreciate step by step instructions or to point out the most relevant dependencies or whatsoever.
Thanks!

I am not an expert too, but i did the following:
since my / is on an cf-Card (ro) i made a symlink to my SSD (/var/www - /mnt/usbdisk/rootfs/var/www). Also made this for the mysql libdir and several others. Is working wihout issues here…

Using an thinclient (HP-T5730) with

• 8 GB CF-Card (System) ReadOnly (Flashybrid)
  • 40 GB SSD (Data)
  • 2TB SATA (Backup)
  • Nextcloud 11.0.1
  • Debian 8.7

Hey thanks for the swift answer!
Could you elaborate in more detail on which commands you used to make the settings for mysql /libdir?
How do I set up this symlink? Since I have my designated disk under/media/verycrypt1 would that mean I need to point to /media/verycrypt1/Nextcloud/var/www?

Even though the Apacha runs under my standard drive?

After installation, when you point your browser for the 1st time to your Nextcloud installation, do you not have the option to alter the path to the data directory?
Default is something like

/var/www/html/nexcloud/data/

and I changed it to

/media/pi/HD1TB/nexcloud/data/