How to exclude SELINUX protection for NC log

I want to set (nextcloud/data/)nextcloud.log in logpath of fail2ban jail, but it is prevented by SELINUX. I followed the guide below to set up SELINUX.
https://docs.nextcloud.com/server/latest/admin_manual/installation/selinux_configuration.html
Currently, I am unable to run fail2ban with SELINUX enabled.

The following does not seem to rule it out. (= not defined)
semanage fcontext -d ‘/var/www/html/nextcloud/data/nextcloud.log’

Do I have to exclude the data directory itself from SELINUX?
I have very limited knowledge of SELINUX so please let me know.

I’m not an SELINUX expert either, but maybe this is of any help: Fail2ban does not access the nextcloud log - #6 by bb77

Or maybe it would be even better to place the log file outside of the nextcloud data directory, e.g. in /var/log/

I have no permissions to write to /var/log. If /var/vhosts/nextcloud is the main directory of NC, I created /var/hosts/nc_log directory and set log there. nc_log is not configured with SELINUX, but when selinux is enabled, fail2 ban stops.

I created a folder/var/log/nextcloud and gave the ownership to the user of the web server. After that Nextcloud should be able to write the log file to this folder. Of course you must also change the path in the config.php.

'logfile' => '/var/log/nextcloud/nextcloud.log',

However that was just an idea how you maybe could work around the SELINUX issue. I’m mostly a Debian/Ubuntu user and I have little to no experience with SELINUX, so I’m not sure if this really helps with the SELINUX issue or what to do, if it doesn’t help…

Thank you. But I also created a /var/log/nclog directory and gave it the same user as NC, but I can’t seem to write to it from NC. I can write on ssh but not from NC. A new log file is automatically created in nextcloud/data directory.