How to disable backup before upgrade

Hi All,
On this issue I’ve seen many posts but none of them showed a permanent answer.
Almost all updates (from 11.x->12.x->13.x) fail due to a timeout on the backup. Since I have no access to a console everything has to be “repaired” through file download->edit->upload->try-again.

I would like to know if it is possible to disable the backup process while updating. Of course I will take care of the backup myself so if something had gone wrong beyond repair, I can do a restore.

Please let me know because updates are a nightmare to me.

Thanks in advance,
Gerard