HOW do i change the data directory (Pi5 8Gb + Ubuntu24.0 srvr + Casaos + Next Cloud + External storage (usb))

Hey all,

So i have spentt 3 days on and off trying to get a 5Tb drive plugged into the USB to be uased as THE storage for user files etc.

So i ALL works, BUT… BUT…

Lett me say yeah, i am a 54yo NOOB (get it over with LOL) and want to move from OMV to NextCloud.

So when installing in Casaos i edited settings to add the path. I also tried using the autoconfig file. I also added the external drive app.
i ALSO watched countless videos on YT that KINDA gave an idea but failed OR wasn’t logical based on my setup.

I even installed and let the admin account sit on the nVME drive (256Gb) and then tried to change where user data is located using external drive setup etc etc

I like what Nextcloud offers BUT maybe i am out of my depth AND league on this.

as i say, on the net and YT there are MANY MANY tutorials BUT none that have my setup. those that do use cloud providers or some other setup that the command line or terminal stuff doesn’t help all the way.

simply, i want users to be on an attached HDD and not internal drive. Any help is great - or link to another tutorial(s) LOL

Thanks

I’m not familiar with casaOS but I checked there demo and it looks nice.
on the left of casaOS dashboard next to account there is settings.
in here is

Automount USB drive

is this enabled?

Is your 5Tb drive available in the casaOS storage manager ? eighter under storage or drive ?

Here is what I think.

open NC settings on the casaOS dashboard ( 3 dots > settings)

Next to volumes click +add

under host I used as example

/DATA/AppData/nextcloud/data

this should be pointing to your 5Tb disk

under container I filled in

/srv/data

I then went to > /DATA/AppData/nextcloud/var/www/html/config/config.php and added this line

‘check_data_directory_permissions’ => false,