Hosting Users' Files on NAS Drives

Hi Support,

Is it possible for me to host my user files on a NAS drive on the same network as NextCloud machine (local hosting)?

Yes via samba (smbclient) or NFS (pure Linux setup)

but there are some pitfalls.

@jogunremi did you run a nextcloud server and looked at the folder layout of the data directory? do you want to access the files both ways? (direct through NAS and through nextcloud)

thanks for your response. what I would want is to store the users files on the NAS and point nextcloud to the NAS. So users can access the files on the NAS thru the nextcloud portal or the desktop client. I am actually very new to nextcloud though.

What are the pitfalls you are refering to? I will be happy to know.

Hi,
i believe there is multiple ways to do this, depending on the level of security / separation you would like to achieve.

1. you can simply mount the SMB/CIFS Share on the Nextcloud server and have it presented to the users as external storage. (choose “local” as the storage provider and specify the mount point e.g. /mnt/my_NAS_Share) -> all users could use the same “share-user” and write to the NAS
  2. you could present the share to the user through the smb / cifs external storage connector -> this allows you to specify how the users authenticate when connecting to the share e.g Username / Password, you can even forward the Nextcloud Username and Password)

I recommend trying the external storage connector (option 2). You might have to install some additional packages to your nextcluod server such as smbclient -> normally Nextcloud GUI will tell you if something is missing.
https://docs.nextcloud.com/server/17/admin_manual/configuration_files/external_storage/smb.html