Help With Install

I am fairly new to Ubuntu and Nextcloud. I am looking for a simple walkthrough to help setup Nextcloud. I know there is a manual, but what I need isn’t in there. It’s more on the Ubuntu permissions and files.

I can install it normally with no issues at all. My problem is that I want to use a 2nd hdd (4TB) for data storage. My boot drive isn’t very big and I want to continue using my ssd (250GB) for the boot. Can someone help me with the steps I need to follow to set permissions, owner and things on the 2nd hdd? I mean as if you were actually doing it yourself after a fresh install of Ubuntu 16.04 or whatever the newest version is. The starting point would start by how to setup up the 2nd drive for storage. Or, if someone can do the same to use as external storage. When I mount the 2nd drive, it wants to mount at /media/myname/storage. Apparently, it can’t be in one of “my” directories. I really would appreciate it and I thank you for your time.

(edit by moderator: reformatted the text to make it readable)

Once you’ve added the 2nd drive to the PC, locate the drive with sudo fdisk -l and take note of the path eg: /dev/sdc. In your case it may be sdb as it’s a 2nd disk.

Once you’re sure which drive is your second, you can use this to partition it from cli: http://askubuntu.com/questions/384062/how-do-i-create-and-tune-an-ext4-partition-from-the-command-line/384063

Following that, gain the UUID with sudo blkid /dev/sdc and add the drive to your /etc/fstab file to have it automatically mount to the same mountpoint on every boot (in order to provide NC with a permanent data location for the config file). An example would be:

UUID=02C22F1539D54F25 /mount/point ext4 0 0