Good configuration for small/medium instance

Hi everyoby !

I’m new with nextcloud and new about the cloud storage subject.
I’m looking to create a nextcloud instance to store my pictures with my family.
I don’t want to use google drive, onedrive or an other, because I would like to keep my data in France.

I think that I have got between 3 and 4 To to store, maybe 5, and I’m questionning myself about the best practice to deal between price and security.

• I first searched to use a VPS, but all VPS are using SSD now, so it costs a lot.
  • I found a low cost private server with 2 To of sata disc for 10€/months, and 17€/months for 2x2 To, but there is no backup system, I have to buy a backup server wich multiply the cost by two minimum, or buy my personal HDD to make backup at home :confused:
  • I found a shared web hosting service, with “unlimited” storage for only 6€/months, with backup included, and I can use the web installer or Softaculous, but I’m pretty sure that they will kick me off when they will see 3 To of data arrived on there servers XD

So, what’s you recommandation ?
Private server with lot’s of HDD cost a lot, and they have lot’s of CPU / RAM that I don’t need…

Maybe the good way is to have a shared web hosting service to install the soft (nextcloud) and a storage service with lot’s of HDD, but I don’t know how to do that with nextcloud, is it possible ?
And, this service looks like to cost a lot, 0.01€/Go, it’s more than using GGdrive, dropbox or an other ><’

So, my question, how do you do ? ^^

Thank you everybody, and happy new year !

i host a synology in my cellar for this kind of mass data. nextcloud (vps hosted) is only used for temporary sharing and data-to-go. (e.g. data I need during traveling.) I could mount the photo share of my synology to my nextcloud but didn’t have the need yet.

you can use S3 compatible storage as primary storage with nextcloud.

https://www.scaleway.com/en/pricing/#object-storage