Getting an existing contacts list *with* photos into NC - how?

Hello,
I am new to NC and technically not really advanced.

Scenario:
I have tons of contacts in my Android mobile phone and all of them have nice contact photos. Currently they all are synced with an online adressbook (I want to get away from that internet storage of my contacts).
Now I want to initially fill my NC-contacts with all those existing contacts including the contact photos.

I tried linking the Android phone via DAVx5 and that somehow works, but effectively not.
Simply because it seems to assume that I want to sync NC-contacts oubound into my phone initially and so creates a brandnew second adressbook on the phone which then also is empty.

I do want to push my phone data into NC initially and then later continue syncing.

I do know I can export the contacts data into a file and then import it into NC, but so far I only seem to be able to get the text data and nothing of the embedded photos.

Anyone here with a tip how I can load my existing contacts with all contact images into NC?

Hello @Gorf wlecome to Nextcloud forum! take a look at the search - you will find number of similar questions. There is also a way to migrate all your data from Goggle to Nextcloud.

I have no experience with Google contacts but I successfully imported contacts from Exchange/Outlook with pictures (unfortunately I had to convert the original v2 version to v3 of vcf using external tool - see details)

DAVx5 works as designed, which means it always creates new address books. You need to export your default Android address book to a vcf file and re-import it into the new address book which DAVx5 has created. Due to the fact that photos a stored within the vcf file they usually get imported without any problems.

Ok, thanks for the hints. I will now describe what was my problem and how it was solved for others that run into similar situations.

Solution: