Error after updating MariaDB and phpMyAdmin

Hi

I’m new to Nextcloud and taking my first steps by running it on my Synology NAS. Everything worked fine until today, when I updated to MariaDB 10.3.29-1038 and phpMyAdmin 4.9.7-1025. Right after installing, I can’t access Nextcloud anymore and I get the default error page (“Internal Server Error”).

Since the nextcloud.log is a bit too big to completely copy/paste here, are there certain sections I can look for? Can I provide any other information?

Big thanks in advance!

Stefan

phpMyAdmin is only a nice tool to access your database via the web. It is not needed to run nextcloud.

Can you access the database via phpMyAdmin?

Can you SSH into the box?

Can you access the database via command line?

Which web server do you use? Look into the error log of the web server first.

I can access the database using phpMyAdmin and SSH through CMD. I’m using Synology’s own Web Station and the Apache 24 log file was completely empty.

Thanks in advance!

So the database seems to be fine. Are the database credentials in the config.php of your nextcloud? Did you scan the nextcloud log file for entries like “error” or “fail”? There should be some hint. Also you could try to setup the apache to produce some error.log.

Try webserver and php logs.

I couldn’t find anything relevant in the nextcloud.log but when I went comparing the MySQL version number that’s in the config.php and (left on the image) and the one I found through phpMyAdmin (on the right), there was a difference.

Naamloos

I hadn’t yet set up PHP logging @Larry_Boyd, I’ll do it now.

Thanks in advance!