Encryption nextcloud side or linux

Hi, I’m new to linux systems etc. I managed to install and run nextcloud on ubuntu server. But I have some concerns about security. I don’t know how this is working on linux machine, but in Windows you just encrypt whole drive, enter password to decrypt and it’s done. I have latest version of linux, and nextcloud. Server is installed in raid1. I tried to just enable encryption on server side in nextcloud administration settings and checked encrypt main catalog, becouse netxtcloud and storage is on the same hdd. But when I have this enable I can make a folder, but I can’t upload any files to it. I’m getting an error: “encryption is not ready: multi key encryption failed nextcloud”. When I disable root catalog encryption, everything is working fine again. So maybe whole disk encryption? Like:

Disk Encryption in a Linux Environment (oracle.com)

As I said, Linux is not mine primary system, I’m just starting. So if I go with the instructions in this article do I lose access to my files, or it will format the drive? How I could be using my nextcloud on another pc when my drive would be encrypted?

What I’m trying to achieve:
I have my PC with server and nextcloud installed in my home. And lets say, someone steals my PC, than he will have access to my files, and I don’t want that :stuck_out_tongue:
In Windows if I have hdd ecnrypted, no one can get to my files if he stole my pc and dosn’t know the password, and if he steals the drive it will be also useless to him. I’m trying to just secure my data :slight_smile:

This will be a question for Ubuntu server if your goal is:

LUKS / Full disk encryption is done when installing Ubuntu. See their documentation or search around for setup details.

But that doesn’t answer my question :stuck_out_tongue: What can I do to secure my files :stuck_out_tongue:

So I encrypted my home folder using that tutorial: