Delete user accidentally

If I accidentally delete a user who was not the right one, will the deleted files go to a folder on the server? or are they permanently removed from the entire system?

Unfortunately yes. This is one of those situations where a current backup would come in very handy, or a filesystem that can do snapshots…

If none of this is in place, you might have a chance of recovering at least some data, with a disk recovery tool.

In case you need to go down the disk-recovery route, you should act quickly and switch off the system immediately. The longer it runs, the greater the risk that the corresponding blocks on the hard disk will be overwritten or, in the case of an SSD, that TRIM will permanently delete the data.

Good luck.

This topic was automatically closed 24 hours after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.