Chose to sync one folder and the Windows Desktop Client synced everything?

I have a question about selecting what to sync in the Desktop Client, on both Linux and Windows.

Let’s say I have a Documents folder, which contains many files and many folders, including one called “Personal Stuff”. I chose to only sync the “Personal Stuff” folder on the Linux and Windows versions. The Linux version synced “Personal Stuff” as well as the files in its parent folder. The Windows folder seemed to download everything.

This isn’t what I expected based on what I chose to sync. Did I do something wrong or do I not understand how the sync works? Thanks

Oh ok, I see what happened. The Linux desktop client downloaded files as I explained, though I still don’t understand why it downloaded the contents of the parent folder to the one I chose to sync.

Somehow, I must have accidentally configured the Windows client to use the virtual option. I know I chose to select what to sync, but perhaps I pressed escape as I wanted to pre-create the folder, and it reset that option and I didn’t notice in the process.