Change name of virtual host

[/details]

Nextcloud version (eg, 12.0.2): 17.0.1
Operating system and version (eg, Ubuntu 17.04): Ubuntu 18.04
Apache or nginx version (eg, Apache 2.4.25): Apache 2.4.29
PHP version (eg, 7.1): 7.2

The issue you are facing:

Is this the first time you’ve seen this error? (Y/N): Not a “problem”, rather something I would like to do, but I don’t know how to do it.

I am currently using nextcloud using a dynamic dns service (dynu.com) with a web address such as cloud.xxxxx.dynu.com. Now I have registered a domain name for email and would like to use the same domain name for my Nextcloud. This is partly because then I can get letsencrypt and don’t need to pay for a certificate renewal every year. Letsencrypt hasn’t been working for dynu.com addresses. Now how do I go about this? First I thought I could just create a new virtual host file for the new address (cloud.xxxx.link) but now I have doubts. Any help is appreciated. I am not very good at understandning virtual hosts and Apache configuration files, but I have had some success setting up nextcloud and email services using tutorials, manuals and forums.

Hi, Welcome to the Forum.

First: Where are you hosting.

If you host at home you have the problem of having a dynamic (changing) IP Adress.
At your Domain Registration, where you must point your IP to a specific IP Adress. DynDNS Services exist exactly becuase of that problem.

If you have a webhoster, with static IP, then there are (from the rear of my head) following steps:
Point cloud.yourdomain.com to your IP.
Maybe you have to allow HTTP again, if you disabled it. You can switch that back afterwards.
Change the entry regarding cloud.xxxxx.dynu.com to cloud.yourdomain.com in your config.php
setup letsencrypt.

See, your local webserver really doesnt give a damn about your Domainname. The Application Nextclound on the other hand does.