Can't upload files from outside local LAN

Can’t access my Nextcloud files from outside my local network.

Hi, I’m a complete noob with Linux stuff, but I managed to get Nextcloud working well on a laptop with Ubuntu 18.04 LTS.
It seems to work fine on my local LAN (access & upload- tested with 15gb of files).
The issue starts when I want to upload from my Oneplus android device on a 4G cellular network- I can’t access files nor upload. The files I’m testing are very small (screenshots from my phone) and the upload/downloading gets stuck on 0% (An error occurred while waiting for the server. Could not complete operation- the error message).
If I start the session with 4G and then turn on Wi-Fi it works smoothly and fast(!).
Tried a different Wi-Fi frequency network (5ghz instead of 2.4)- still worked.
I am really clueless why this is happening…

Nextcloud version 13.0.1
Operating system version Ubuntu 18.04/Android 8.1.4- oxygen 5.1.4
Apache version Apache 2.4.29
PHP version 7.2

Tried to forward ports on my Linksys WRT 32X router (80,443) and it changed nothing.

Please advise & help- there is no point in having a private cloud if you can’t access it from anywhere.
This is just a test project before I setup Nextcloud on raspberry pi 3 B+.
Any suggestions on how to do this in a simpler way with Raspbian stretch (I want an ordinary OS on the pi because I’m planning to use it as a media center as well with Kodi).

When you say port forward 80 and 443, did you setup NC on http on port 80? And also, are you sure about the port forwarding to the correct host?
Do you use dynamic DNS service on your router?
What happens if you try to access the server from a web browser on your phone from outside the LAN? Does it time out, or does Nextcloud give you a message stating you need to add x.x.x.x as a trusted Domain?

Big thanks for the reply.
Browser on phone with 4G doesn’t work as well (only on Wi-Fi).