Cant switch Background jobs from Ajax to Cron!

Hello dear friends!

Im a bit of a noob here so apologies if the question is stupid but… when I try to switch to Cron in the web interface of nextcloud, the web interface shows me that the change was made, my password is not asked from me by the system, then, when I refresh the page, the selection is back to AJAX and I dont seem to be able to move from AJAX to cron. I setup the cron tab to excecute each 5 minutes. In a previous installation following this tutorial → How to Install and Configure Nextcloud Hub 21 - Tech Guides.

I dont seem to be able to find any info about this online :frowning: is it my error? Why is this happening!? How can i fix it!!?!

Thanks a lot in advanced!!

Hello @leop,

this is indeed a bug in NC24, see [stable24] Fix backgroundjobs mode by kesselb · Pull Request #32470 · nextcloud/server · GitHub for details. Should be fixed in the next version I guess (24.0.2).
You can try to change it via occ, see https://docs.nextcloud.com/server/stable/admin_manual/configuration_server/occ_command.html#background-jobs-selector

Thank you very much for that answer… if possible, ((sorry for my noobness)) could you please walk me trhogugh a bit more on what I need to do!?

I have tried the command

sudo -u www-data php occ background:Cron

In response i got “Could not open input file: occ”

Any ideas?

Thank you very much!

That depends on how you installed nextcloud (like operating system, docker container, etc.).

Generally you need to be in the nextcloud directory, so /var/www/nextcloud/ for example. Change the directory cd /var/www/nextcloud/ and then execute the command above (see https://docs.nextcloud.com/server/stable/admin_manual/configuration_server/occ_command.html#using-the-occ-command)
Depending on your knowledge I strongly suggest to get to know some basics before messing with the commandline.