Can't connect with nextcloud remotely on my subdomain

Nextcloud version _ 28.01`
Operating system and version _ ubuntu 20.04
Apache or nginx version _: Apache2
PHP version __: 8.1

The issue

hello - i have set up a nextcloud server on my LAN and everything works fine (after some struggles) - i am very new to this but see it as a local solution for storing the family’s ridiculous amount of data …

to that end it works, but i also need to reach the server from outside my local network from time to time…

i have set up a subdomain for a (new) domain. the domain itself is hosted by godaddy and seems to work fine… i added an A record with my public IP and also a CNAME record pointing at the main domain …

After a week of finding myself hitting brick walls, i am afraid i need direct help…

If any of you smart folk can help, i would be eternally grateful - i feel like throwing things about at the moment :slight_smile:
the main thing is that it works on my LAN but I would love it to be available remotely…

Is this the first time you’ve seen this error? (Y/N): NO

Steps to replicate it:

1. Install nextcloud and adjust virtualhosts config files and sites-available
  2. Access locally - no issue
  3. Try to connect remotely - does not
  4. Try to get certbot certifcation - failure each and every time with the following message…

certbot failed to authenticate some domains (authenticator: apache). The Certificate Authority reported these problems:
Domain: blah.mxxxxx.com
Type: connection

Detail: 118.172.162.32: Fetching http://blah.blah.com/.well-known/acme-challenge/3Gy1rUr6iX_S1f_eO_O_NlqsPH6snh0jIMET_2qnusw: Timeout during connect (likely firewall problem)

I have disabled any firewalls temporarily and it has no effect …

ports 80 and 443 are open on my router

I will be able to log into the host computer in a few hours, if you need any extra information like log files or config files