Cannot log in or use new installation

I am horribly confused.

I’ve never used anything like Nextcloud before. I own my own domain, but I haven’t yet had the time to figure out how things work or how to do the various things I want to be able to do.

My domain host makes the Softaculous installer available to us, so I used that to install Nextcloud v16.0.4. Then I went to my login page and entered the DB Username and DB Password. NC returned a message that the username and/or password were invalid, even though I copied and pasted the both items from Softaculous’s installation details page.

That leaves me completely lost. Help??

Edited to add: I used my third-party password manager to create a secure password 64 characters long. A moment ago, I noticed that my domain host has a password generator with an upper limit of 18 characters. Could password length be part of the problem?

The nextcloud login does not use the DB username and password. Here is a guide to set the admin password:
https://docs.nextcloud.com/server/15/admin_manual/configuration_user/reset_admin_password.html
Can you log in to MySQL using the DB credentials? This can be checked on the command line or via phpMyAdmin, if installed.

1 Like

OK, it looks like the solution to my dilemma is to uninstall Nextcloud, cancel my domain hosting service, and go back to Gaggle Mail.

At the link you provided:

1. doesn’t work
  2. doesn’t exist
    The occ stuff might as well be the Marklar language written in ancient Egyptian hieroglyphics, for all I can understand of it.

I am very sorry to have bothered you wonderful people. I am even more sorry I imagined that I would be able to host my own domain. I’ll return to the service I hate, run by a company I loathe, because I’m clearly incapable of doing anything else.