Can the Admin see all files/shares in one view?

I set up nextcloud for my students to upload their papers / homework.

I set up a user account for each student with folders for the different courses. Each course folder is shared with the respective teacher for wich I also set user accounts. Teachers can add files but not delete or change files.

As an admin I would like to have a view where I can see all folders/files of all users. I expected to see all those in my (admin) account but I only see my own folders.

Does every user have to share each folder/file with the admin user that I can see the data?

Or am I doing something wrong here?

Thanks in advance!

I think it would be a huge security risk if an netxcloud admin could see all folders and files of his users. so in my opinion it is not possible and it should be not possible.

The short answer to your question, no Admins don’t have full view from page.

I think a better approach to what you’re trying to do (and since all the accounts have been setup) is to organize things via groups. Meaning all student accounts belong to Student Group, all teachers belong to Teacher Group, and then maybe even go further and assign Math teachers to belong to Math Teacher Subgroup, etc…and then…

Create folders under Admin account and share with them (this way you have full view because you’re owner of the folder(s), and also because you’re the one sharing, you control all permissions - preventing deletions etc).

• English - shared with Student Group, English Teacher Group, + optionally any additional individual account
  • Math - shared with Student Group, Math Teacher Group, + optionally any additional individual account
  • General - shared with Student Group, Teacher Group, + optionally any additional individual account

Also, if you have access to the computer Nextcloud is running on, you can view any folders/files located under /var/www/nextcloud/data/…

3 Likes