Can i setup the data/database on a separate physical internal drive?

hi, i am barely learning nextcloud and linux, and i want to safeguard my data. i am setting up my own cloud for the family to store all our data and also run some basic game servers. it will be used on lan as well as remotely.
hardware: Intel NUC 11 NUC11PAHI5
mem:64G
storage: drive1= ssd sata 1TB and drive2= m.2 ssd 4TB
nextcloud: latest version (haven’t reinstalled it yet).

i did setup nextcloud a few weeks back with external help on a single 4TB drive, and was running fine. but being a noob i ran a horrible command that rendered the server useless. i am reinstalling everything now after losing all my work and data. so i got the secondary drive and using it for the server os and programs.
being a previous windows user, i always had my data on a separate partition or drive in case i had to reinstall the os.
can i have nextcloud on one drive and the database/mydata on another, so that if i ever need to reinstall the server, i can have my data safe on a separate drive?
i will also have monthly backups on a external drive, once i get to that and figure things out as i go.

thnx for any help i can get.
jack

Sure. Although it can be done later, the easiest way with Ubuntu is to do it during OS installation. For example if you were to mount /var to the second drive, then anything that goes under /var would be there. Typically that would include both MySQL and your web root, but it really depends on how your system and Nextcloud are set up.

My thoughts were pretty similar to yours and i set up a OpenMediaVault (OMV) to store the data and use the External Storage feature in NextCloud. This way I can share out and rsync the data to other servers in OMV and share the data to humans for their use and manipulation through OnlyOffice in NextCloud. I’m sure it’s not the “cleanest” but I’m too ignorant in databases to comprehend a better solution.

thanks KarlF12,