Allow only browsers to connect to server and remove/disallow any desktop or mobile client

Hello

This will sound like a silly question I am sure, but is there a way to only allow users to sync through a browser? I do not want anyone to use the desktop or mobile apps to sync as they are very technically unsophisticated and will likely end up messing up files on their system. To me the easiest way to accomplish this is to remove the reference to “Download Clients” in the welcome e-mail they receive when I invite them, and remove the download the clients pop up they will see when they log in for the first time (or any time after that). My theory is what they can’t see, they can’t try.

I am REALLY new to NC and like what I see so far, but my development skills are on the lower side of good.

Any assistance in identifying server based apps, admin settings, or a process that will allow me to achieve this would be greatly appreciated

I am running NC 12.04 on Centos 7.3.

Thank you inadvnce for any assistance you can provide

Actually quite like the idea behind that. If not via NC directly then you could likely block clients on the webserver level.

@tflidd @MorrisJobke @Andy

Glad to hear I am not alone in this approach :slight_smile:

I agree…I CAN block at the server level, but hope that there is a GUI or easy to follow method someone is aware of to accomplish this as I am still very much a beginner in development and Linux administration. I am lucky in that I have a close friend that is quite skilled at Linux and security, however, I really would rather avoid bothering him for every little tweak I am looking for.