Access Nextcloud Data from an external Web App (Single Page Application)

Hey there,

I am a Web Developer (React, Angular, etc.) and I would like create some Apps and access data of my Nextcloud instance. An example would be a Cookbook SPA or a bookmark SPA to use on my mobile phone (I donā€™t have Android or Apple).

I did some research and also found a lot of documentation (e.g. Clients and Client APIs ā€” Nextcloud latest Developer Manual latest documentation ), but most of the stuff is for Android development. The closest thing I found is the ā€œLogin flow v2ā€. I did some local tests, but I always run into CORS problems, e.g. the https://cloud.example.com/index.php/login/v2 endpoint does not even allow an OPTIONS call. Other REST APIā€™s respond to the OPTIONS call with a 302 redirect to the login page, which is not even allowed in CORS.

So is there a proper way for external Web Apps to authenticate against a nextcloud instance? Has somebody ever done something similar?

What do you use for your mobile phone?

I am sorry, thatā€™s just wrong, my fault. I do use Android, but no Google and no Google Play Store. I also do have access to some existing F-Droid Apps (e.g. Cookbook, Bookmarks), but they do not fit my needs. But actually it doesnā€™t matter.
My business is to develop PWA (Progressive Web Apps) and I am not a big fan of native Apps.
I definitely do not want to discuss pros/cons of PWA and native Apps here, but for instance my wife is using Apple and there are no native apps for my examples for iOS, so a simple Web App would be perfect (and also not a very big deal to develop). But therefore I need to login from a client, which is not hosted on the same domain, to be able to use the corresponding REST Apiā€™s.

Hmm, perhaps this can go in the Development section of the forum? Might get a few more relevant eyes there.